Early Years

Flossie Welcomes All Pupils Into Early Years

Pattison Nursery

From the age of 3 children may join Pattison Nursery and continue to the Reception Class when they reach statutory school age. The aim of the early Years is to encourage each child’s all-round development – physical, intellectual, creative, social, moral and emotional – through physical, sensory and practical play, whilst preparing them for a seamless transition into Key Stage One. They will be guided not only by qualified, enthusiastic staff but also by their mascot, Flossie the Flamingo!

Flossie the Flamingo welcomes every child into the Nursery each day, and they will learn to love stories about her, and hopefully create their own. The children have their own specific colourful space both indoors and outside to learn and play.

Being a small school, we celebrate and value each child’s individuality, and staff take the time to get to know every pupil, supporting them, helping them and encouraging them to learn at their own pace. This pastoral care will continue right through their time at Pattison. They are supported, challenged or extended depending on their individual needs, so that they are always working to their full potential.

Children are given the opportunity to develop their learning and interests as individuals and within small groups. Learning initially through play develops later with phonics for writing and reading and numeracy through maths games and group activities, understanding the world and expressive arts and design. Speech and Drama, Dance and Music are taught by specialist staff from an early age, boosting children’s confidence and self-esteem. It is in these early years that we want children a life-long passion for learning and exploring, and a deep thirst for knowledge about the world around them.

Lessons are not only held in the classroom, but the children also have numerous opportunities to enjoy and experience the outdoor areas for role play, physical activities and much more.

Previous slide
Next slide

Why Pattison Nursery?

All children work towards the Early Learning Goals, as laid out in the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework, but they go beyond these requirements in preparation for Transition into Key Stage 1. There are seven areas of learning and development that are crucial for inspiring children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, for building their capacity to learn and to form relationships and thrive. The three Prime areas are:

The four Specific areas through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied are:

Daily Routine

This is an approximate guide to the many activities each day, but will vary from day to day.

Previous slide
Next slide
"Thank you for all your support, understanding and love you are giving each day to my son.."
Reception Parent