We follow the National Curriculum.

In Key Stages 1 and 2 there is a two year rolling programme which enables children to progress confidently with the same teacher, whilst meeting the objectives over two years.

Key Stage 1

Year 1:

Remembrance Day, Great Fire of London, Seaside Holidays in the Past.

Year 2:

Toys from the Past, Florence Nightingale, Homes Long Ago.

Key Stage 2 Years 3 & 4

Year 1:   

The Tudors, The Egyptians.

Year 2:   

The Vikings, The Romans, World War II.

Key Stage 2 Years 5 & 6

Year 1:   

The Ancient Greeks, Victorian Times.

Year 2:

How has life changed in Britain since 1948, What can we learn about recent history from studying the life of a famous person? Tudor Exploration, Life of an evacuee in WWII.

Key Stages 3 & 4

Mr Bath takes History for the whole senior school.

History is part of the curriculum for all pupils in Years 7 to 11 and at Key Stage 3 it generally follows the recommended National Curriculum themes.

Throughout the senior school each pupil has their own text book.

Pupils are introduced to the idea of time and chronology and the use of sources and evidence to illustrate the events of the past and how to use them to help interpret the past and understand the idea of bias.

Year 7

The subject is taught in a chronological manner starting with the Romans and their world, leading into the conquest of Britain and life in Britain in Roman times.  England then remains a focus throughout Years 7 and 8 as we look at the changes following the departure of the Romans, the Norman Conquest, castles, religion and life in the Middle Ages.

Year 8

Focus on aspects of Tudor England in the first term and on Stuart England after Christmas, and a brief overview of some features of the Industrial Revolution.  There is a short unit on the French Revolution in the latter part of the Summer term, even though this is not part of the National Curriculum.

Year 9

Focuses on the causes of the Great War, conditions in the trenches, the Treaty of Versailles and the emergence of Fascist Europe.  There is a study of the Holocaust using a variety of materials.  The GCSE course starts after the Easter holiday in order to give two full years of study for GCSE.

Key Stage 4 Years 10 & 11

AQA History is the course followed.  There are two papers, each with two units.  In paper 1 the topics are: Germany 1890-1945 – Democracy and Dictatorship and Conflict and Tension 1894 – 1918.  In paper two the topics are Britain: Health and the People 1000 to the present day; and Norman Conquest 106 6 – 1100.  There is some choice as to other topics if necessary.  There is no course work, just final examinations at the end of Year 11. This subject is not tiered and there are no separate entry levels.

.Further study to A level and beyond is thus well prepared for, should pupils wish to do so in History after Year 11.

Years 7, 8 & 9:   2 x 70 minutes per week.
Year 10:                2 x 70 minutes per week.
Year 11:                2 x 70 & 1 x 35 minutes per week.